Sir Julius Vogel Awards 2019 – Shortlist!

In January, I posted here about the Sir Julius Vogel Awards. While, unfortunately, Top of Show did not make it onto the shortlist, I can excitedly share that The Glassblower’s Peace has been shortlisted for Best Novella/Novelette. Thank you to everyone who nominated it!

I’m really thrilled about this. The Glassblower’s Peace is a favourite of my work, and arguably captures a lot of the main hallmarks of my writing so far. It is a story I’m proud of and I’m really pleased it will be getting a lot more attention shone onto it. If you haven’t read it and want to, please check it out over at Aurealis #114:

https://aurealis.com.au/store/aurealis-114-copy/

As an aside, this year’s SJVs are awarded at Geysercon in Rotorua in just over a month’s time. I’ll be making my way there for my first convention, so it should an interesting experience.

If you want to check out the full SJV shortlist, and you should, you can find a link below. There are some excellent writers in New Zealand, and it’s awesome to be on the same shortlist as them.

http://www.sffanz.org.nz/sjv/sjvFinalists-2019.html

Leave a comment